Furious Anger and Jasmine Rice with Almonds and Golden Raisins

As some of you know I life in academia.  This morning during a lab meeting a girl in my lab presented work from a paper she just submitted.  In this presentation, she talked about data from a protein model, that I made for her.  Funny thing is, that I am not an author on the paper.  It took an exceptional amount of self-restraint not to say something during the meeting. I get angry like a cartoon character.  I can’t control my facial expressions, my cheeks get red, and my face gets hot.  The next step is steam coming out of my ears.  To make a long rotten day short, between this lab meeting and speaking to my boss, the former Frenchman decided it was necessary to speak to me. Oh crazy, how you love me. Anyhow, I managed to be nice and calm to my boss.  He assured me he would fix it and he didn’t know.  By the end of the day, I almost, ALMOST, felt bad for my co-worker.  She texted me an apology, and from what I can gather she may have had her ass handed to her. My boss has only gotten angry at me once, and it was unfounded.  I went home and cried.  The horror of him being angry with reason is great.

I went home and cooked because I wouldn’t be able to focus with that amount of anger. When I get that angry it takes a while for it to fade to a reasonable level.  I do give myself credit for at least seeming composed.

Here is what I made,

Jasmine Rice with Almonds and Golden Raisins:

Image

I made far too much, if I were to make it again, I would use half the amount of rice, (and water).
I’d also add sugar when I added the water if I could.

  1. 2c jasmine rice
  2. 1/4c slices almonds
  3. 1/2c golden raisins
  4. peanut oil
  5. 1/4c sweet onion
  6. 3c water
  7. 1 or 2 cinnamon stick
  8. several cloves
  9. salt to taste

I have these beautiful spices I brought home from India.  I love it when I get to use them.

Image

Put about a tablespoon of oil in the pan, and heat it.  Then add the cinnamon and the cloves.  Wait until they smell awesome, then add the onion.  Be sure you cut the onion, very very fine.  Cook that until the onion becomes translucent, if not a touch brown.  Add the rice and be sure you coat the rice with the oil from the bottom of the pan. Then add the water and raisins, and bring the whole thing to a boil.  Once it has boiled it, stir it well, and turn it down to as low as your stove goes.  I normally shut the heat entirely when the rice is almost dry.  It will continue cooking but rice on the bottom of the pan doesn’t burn that way.  Once the rice has sucked up all the moisture, add the almonds and enjoy.

My photos are terrible on this blog generally.  I’ll try to work on that.  The sad thing is, one of my favorite hobbies is photography, but here I only ever use my phone.  I’ll still take the photos with my phone, but I’ll make an effort to make them better.

This entry was posted in Crazy, Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

