Stay Away From the White Stuff, It’s Bad for the Blood

I am going to go a month without flour or sugar.  I need to figure out what I can eat so it’s easy.  To be clear, this is not gluten free, and not carb free.  I will not eat any gluten free substitutions and no fake sugar, honey, etc. I also will start making meals for the week again.  The main goal is to be more creative and healthy with my cooking.  The secondary goal is to lose weight without obsessive counting.

In preparation for this flour and sugar free existence I have been gouging on bread and sugar.  I am so ready to not eat it anymore.  Too much bread makes me feel tired and sick.  So this a crappy fast list, and I will add to it as the month goes on.

What to eat:

  • fruits
  • vegetables
  • oatmeal, quinoa, rice and other types of grains (NOT white or wheat flour)
  • oils
  • vinegar
  • spices and how!
  • popcorn
  • tofu, tvp etc
  • nuts
  • beans

When I start making meals, I’ll add meal plans. I need to learn to drink coffee without sugar. Tomorrow I have a stir fry with tofu that my gym buddy made a few days ago. 

Also, I had mentioned I had blood work done.  It was done to check hormone levels because of the loss of my ovary.  We decided (me and my awesome OBGYN) to just run tons of things for the hell of it.  Everything is good.  I’m not pre-diabetic at all, (I was when I was 18 before I started working out), my hormones are perfect, my blood cells are healthy, although I could do with more of them, but there is a bell curve, I’m just on the low end of it.  My thyroid is happy and healthy. My triglycerides are freakishly low, literally half of what they were when I was 9 years old! My bad cholesterol was not in the ideal category  but it is in the near ideal.  The thing that bothered me was my good cholesterol is the VERY lowest in the normal range.  I already work out a great deal.  I am going to eat more nuts and “good” fats.  My mom (a nurse) says it is very hard to raise good cholesterol.  However, it can’t hurt to try.  Also I could eat fish.  That would likely help, but I’m not sure how I feel about it.  I really have very little moral issue with eating fish and I told myself when I quit eating meat, that it would be because I didn’t want to.  That I would be loose with my definitions and not strongly define myself as anything.  That being said, I don’t think I can regularly eat fish.  However, it’s in the back of my head.

I have been sitting at home reading articles for the past week and a half.  I have read more in the past 2 weeks than in the last three years, but I almost feel confident I can start writing.

I’ve also been practicing my french for my trip. A friend who teaches english in france set me up with a friend whose is worse than my french. It forces me to speak french because there is no english fall back and in him I have acquired a Parisian tour guide.  I do love a 26 year old handsome Frenchman fawning over me.  Although it’s different from what it would have been five years ago, now I laugh about it, and tell him it’ll never happen. Back then I would have chased that attention and affection. I’ve turned into a girl who 5 years ago I would have been jealous of.  I’m proud of that. I’m more comfortable with myself, and happy with the relationship I have.

Things seem to be coming together.  With that being said, as much as I hate planning a wedding, and getting married scares the ever-loving crap out of me, I am glad to be getting married to Mr. F.

The picture on top of my blog of the two bird mugs, are mugs me and Mr. F bought together at a local farmers market.  Mine’s tail broke the other day.  I’m very sad about it.  To make up for it, here is a photo from the day he proposed.

Lastly, I went to an MMA fight this weekend.  I will NEVER fight.  They are terrifying, but I watched a 115 lb pretty little blond girl destroy a former marine.  Terrifying! However there are noticeable changes to my upper body so the work outs will continue.

I’ll quit my chattering.

This entry was posted in About Me, Crazy, Food, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stay Away From the White Stuff, It’s Bad for the Blood

  1. Jean says:

    This is where I learned to make really great tofu at home. She is a good friend. For lunch today I had quinoa with roasted vegetables, spices and herbs and tofu that she brought me at work. It was SO good!
    http://justwanttoride.com/2012/04/27/for-the-love-of-tofu/

    I could never give up all the white stuff, but I am on the road to eating less and less of it. I wish you the best!

    • teapotvegan says:

      I will have to make that! It looks really good and I realized I can’t eat soy sauce for a month 🙂
      The reason I have to give up the white stuff is I love it too much. Whenever I had trouble giving something up, I feel I need to break the dependency.

      • Jean says:

        I find that sad. Still, I respect your reasons and decisions.

        Are you familiar with Tamari Sauce? It is gluten free, and I can’t tell the difference between that and soy sauce.

      • teapotvegan says:

        Yes, the stir fry my friend made me had tamari sauce. Her son can’t eat gluten.

        It isn’t sad I promise. It’s very freeing for me. I have trouble with moderation in every avenue of life. When I really like something I’ll always go to far, and make something otherwise good, destructive. I like feeling I have control over my choices.

        I appreciate the concern 🙂

Leave a Reply

