Lazy Vegan Stuffed Mushrooms

As promised I am trying to be a better blogger.

I have had very little interest in cooking lately, but I bought fixings to make stuffed peppers a week ago. I was not going to let so many lovely mushrooms spoil. It is cold here, so I was actually looking forward to some warm comforting mushrooms. Sadly I was feeling super lazy and ended up making way too much. It wasn’t pretty, but it sure was tasty. If I had it to do again I would do a few things differently, like instead of throwing the onion and celery into the food processor I would have just chopped them, but sometimes who cares if it looks pretty when it tastes good!

Again I made WAY too much. You could use ¼ of these amounts, but this is what I did.

  1. 1 onion
  2. 1 bell pepper
  3. several garlic cloves
  4. few pieces of bread
  5. mushrooms for the stuffing
  6. 3 stalks of celery
  7. salt to taste
  8. earth balance or oil
  9. stuffer mushrooms
  10. vegan parmesan (optional)

As I mentioned, I was feeling very lazy, so I just put the first 6 ingredients in the food processor and walked away. I sautéed the stuffing until there was a bit less liquid and it was warm throughout.

I transferred the stuffing into a glass container, and filled the stuffer mushrooms. I sautéed the mushrooms in a bit of earth balance in a covered pan. If I had to do it again, I would instead “sauté” the mushrooms and stuffing in vegetable stock.

I made WAY too much, so this is what I have left for another day. Plus leftovers from the cooked batch.

I threw a bit of vegan parmesan on top near the end.

My monster bowl was waiting impatiently for warm food.

I forgot to take a picture of the finished product! I was too busy eating them. I’ll update later with one.

Quick, easy, and warm! Perfect for days like today when it goes from the mid 80’s down to the low 50’s.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

