Blueberry Slump

I doubt I’ll be baking for a while, so I’ll share an old recipe.

This is a delicious low calorie dessert perfect for this time of year. Where I live there are many pick you own blueberry farms. Me and my novio, Mr. F, picked blueberries a few weeks ago. We picked two giant buckets. I’m talking at least gallon sized buckets. He ate his ENTIRE bucket in a few hours. Mine we baked into muffins I sent home with him, pancakes, this slump, a smoothie, and I still have at least 4 cups in the freezer.

This is delicious and super easy to make.

Image

There are two parts to this recipe,

Here is the dough,

  1. 2/3 cup flour
  2. 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar
  3. 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  4. pinch of salt
  5. 2 tablespoons earth balance
  6. 1/3 cup water

Make the dough first, and set aside. You should add the solid ingredients together first. Then add the earth balance and cut it in.

Preheat the oven into 450.

Now the inner goo.

  1. 3 c blueberries (I usually use a little more)
  2. 1/4 cup sugar (I usually use a little less)
  3. 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  4. 2 tablespoons water

In a sauce pan cook the blueberries down, I mush them up a bit. Stir them, but not constantly. Let it boil for a couple of minutes and pour it into the casserole dish. While the blueberry goo is still hot, spoon the dough over the top. Try to put the globs fairly uniformly over the top. Then bake it for 15 minutes. The globs of dough on the top will spread together.

It is delicious when it’s fresh.

There are only 210 calories per serving. Although with all the sugar and flour, it’s hard to call it healthy.

This is a slightly altered version of a recipe from this cook book. It isn’t a vegan cookbook, just dairy free, but it has some very good almost farm style baked goods. It is my favorite cook book for desserts. Many vegan cook books try to get too creative with the ingredients. This is just good food.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Milk-Free-Kitchen-Without-Products/dp/0805018360

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Slump

  1. Kinenchen says:

    We make something like this when strawberries are in season in the spring… you’re making me wish it was spring.

  2. teapotvegan says:

    I would love to have the recipe!

Leave a Reply

