Zucchini Parmesan Canoe

ImageThis recipe should be called lazy man’s zucchini parm.  I only have one zucchini left and I didn’t want it to go bad.  I need to go buy more so I can make a proper zucchini lasagna, but I had no desire to cook such a large thing today.  I did fantastically well today calorie-wise.  Between walks, wii dancing, and an hour at the gym I burned a little over 1000 calories today. My dog really hates to be walked at night, so I may have to put the kabosh on that.  When we walk in the morning there is nothing but old people with their dogs.  When we go out at night there are teenagers on bikes that scare the hell out of him.  He’s a neurotic dog, but he comes about it honestly. Anyhow, I digress, the scale had better reward me tomorrow because I deserved it.

So to the recipe!

Zucchini Parmesan Canoe
1.    A medium zucchini
2.    Pasta sauce
3.    Walnut parm, (I use parma!)
4.    Block of very firm tofu
5.    4 or 5 c of fresh spinach
6.    Basil 1-2 teaspoons
7.    Oregano 1-2 teaspoons
8.    Garlic powder 1-2 teaspoons
9.    Salt to taste
10.    Miso (light) 1 tablespoon
11.    1.5 tablespoons nutritional yeast
Put ingredients 4-11 in a food processor until it is an even consistency an there are no tofu chunks left.  I have a very large food processor.  If you don’t you may need to half the second part. If you quarter it you will still have enough for this. I like to make a large amount of it at a time, because it is a bit messy.  It tastes a bit like ricotta cheese with spinach.  It is delicious on pizza and in lasagna tool.  It stores well.

ImageImage

Cut the ends off the zucchini and half it.  Then gut it like a canoe.  Then spray it lightly with olive oil on a lightly sprayed cookie sheet, salt it,  and put it into the broiler until it is brown, 10-15 minutes.

Image
When the zucchini is brown, feel free to eat the guts of the zucchini as they are delicious, and then put a few spoon fulls of sauce in the bottom of the canoe.  The spoon the tofu ricotta in and sprinkle with the walnut parmesan.

ImageImageImage

Bake it at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Enjoy!

The whole thing, (including the guts of the zucchini) has about 180 calories, and 15g of protein.

Just for fun, this is Dominic.  He’s a marvelous little dog.  You’ll be seeing more of him. Image

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zucchini Parmesan Canoe

  1. Kinenchen says:

    Beautiful!

  2. nutritional yeast is the perfect replacement for parmesan! I love this!

Leave a Reply

