Breakfast Smoothie

Mornings are a calorie nightmare for me if I’m not careful.  If I had a decent metabolism or didn’t care how much I weighed, I would eat a farmer size breakfast every morning.  I would eat eggs, bread, and potatoes every morning.  Since I do care how much I weigh, and I don’t have a decent metabolism having an everyday thoughtless breakfast is good for me.

I have had issues losing weight in the past even when I’ve eaten the appropriate amount of calories.  I have come to believe it is because I don’t get nearly enough protein.  When I say that, I mean I get a shamefully low amount of protein, like 15g- 30g on an average day.  I searched through the number of calories per the grams of protein in a soy supplement powder.  Wegman’s brand won by a landslide. It has about 100 calories per serving with 25 g of protein.  It also has no added sugar.  It doesn’t dissolve as well as other brands, but I blend the crap out of it.  I also add chia seeds.  I’m still not 100% sure of the benefits, but fiber can’t be a bad thing.  Finally before I get to making it, I use all unsweetened ingredients.  There are many protein powders with lots of sugar, as well as sweetened non-dairy milks.  Because of this I use a whole banana for sweetness and thickness. If you use sweetened anything, you may want to only use half a banana unless you like things very sweet.

Image

Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Scoop of protein powder
  2. 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  3. 1c almond milk
  4. 1c frozen strawberries
  5. 1 whole frozen banana
  6. Extra water if you like a thinner smoothie (optional, I prefer mine thick).

I generally measure out the almond milk, and add the chia seeds to the almond milk alone and walk away for 15 minutes.  Then in the blender I put the frozen fruit in, then the almond milk chia seed goo, the chia seeds will stick to the measuring cup so you need a spatula to get them all in.  Then I add the protein powder and blend it.  It usually takes at least a minute but my blender isn’t terribly powerful.  Scape the protein powder off the sides a few times and enjoy.  It usually makes quite a bit.  I save the second glass of it in the fridge in an insulated cup for the afternoon.  If I have to go out, I close it up and it stays cold for a very long time.

This smoothie, has 350 calories, 7.8g of fat, 10g of fiber, and 29.2g of protein.  Not a bad way to start the day.

ImageThis is a great way to get your protein after a work out as well.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Kinenchen says:

    I read through your posts and you’re really inspiring. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

